Cushions!

I have been working on a couple of cushion designs recently (and have a few more in the pipeline!). One of the most challenging designs was a new ‘British Best Friends’ cushion. I had asked on facebook for  British breed recommendations so I could add a new dog breed to the collection. The greyhound came out on top so I set about working on the design (and researching if it really was a British Breed). The original design worked pretty well in theory, when i knitted it up it looked good, but when I felted it I had really mini greyhounds. So I then went back to the original design and increased the size of it. Whilst knitting I thought the neck looked a bit long, after felting I realised the neck was really long and I had my very own giraffe dog in fabric form. So back to the drawing board yet again! I finally got a design with an in proportion neck, and large enough so they looked like impressive dogs 🙂 and this is the completed cushion:

Image

 

Do you like it? It costs £55 and is in my online shop now 🙂

I also worked on a new larger cushion design. I plan on keeping my dog cushions 40×40 cm but for my other designs I’m taking the size up a bit. My newest design is 60×60 cm and is so comfy and cuddly, I think i might keep one for myself. The design of this cushion was a bit more straight forward than the greyhound cushion. I will have this for sale in a couple of months, it will be around £80-100, there is a lot of yarn in it! This cushion is inspired by the Scottish highland landscape.

Image

Moidart cushion 60×60 cm

In the next few weeks I hope to do a wee tutorial about inserting zips into knitted and felted cushions. Knitting is really stretchy so putting zips in can be a pain. I have also been doing some upholstery with my fabric and hope to show you the final results soon (you can see the start of one chair in the greyhound cushion picture, just waiting on the braid to put round the edge!) 

Until next time!

Leave a comment