Chair

In 2010 my boyfriend and I decided that we wanted to buy furniture from secondhand shops that we could then restore and upholster in my fabric. Fast forward 3 years and we have finally completed our first project! It has taken a long time to finally complete our first chair, and we have learnt so much about how to restore a simple dining room chair, from the stripping, to wood treatment up to upholstery. The Upholstery is my own project, and using very helpful upholstery step by step book I think my upholstery complements the chair beautifully and I think I’m now ready to try some other upholstery projects. I currently have 4 chairs and a stool to do, one day we will have a house full of refurbished furniture, but it may take some time! The next few weekends have been cleared of all other tasks so we can finally finish off our current restoration projects 🙂

This chair we bought for €3.50 and look pretty awful when we got it, the upholstery was falling apart, and the wood finnish was scratched and worn. Here are some before and after photos of said chair.

Before

SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSC

After

SONY DSC SONY DSC

I think in 2013 I will be undertaking an upholstery course so I can learn how to upholster all kinds of furniture and then hopefully I can start selling furniture upholstered in my own fabric 🙂

Leave a comment